Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 4:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Advice on no drill ff
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:27 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:25 pm
Posts: 4
Just bought the 2014 Outback and wanting to install my fish finder. Any suggestions on how to mount it without drilling holes?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:28 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 506
I did mine through the hull. Glue it to the hull right infront of the sail mast holder or right behind either way. HObie sells a kit for the transducer and then you add the grease instead of glueing... Your choice.. Check out the catalog for ordering number. Austin Kayak has the product.

http://www.austinkayak.com/

Do a search on their site and get the kit. good Luck


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:16 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:48 am
Posts: 190
Location: Portland, OR
I make a ring out of duct seal to create a small well. I put the transducer in the well and pour in a little water. I like this set up because I move the FF between several kayaks. I just run the cables for the transducer and the battery out the front hatch and then close and bungee it. I the bungee to both seal the hatch and to hold the FF in place. I am 6'3" and have long arms so I like having the head unit on the front hatch.

Here is a pick of how the head unit sits:

Image

Here is a pick of the well with the transducer sitting in it (in a different kayak). Please forgive the lens flare :)

Image

_________________
Fish tremble when they hear my name :)

A ship in harbor is safe -- but that is not what ships are built for.
--John A. Shedd, Salt from My Attic, 1928


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:42 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:47 pm
Posts: 196
You might epoxy a mounting bracket to the hull... otherwise, you'll probably have to drill some holes but, if you seal them with Goop or similar, they should work. Mounting the transducer in duct seal is very simple and it works. Mounting it near the mast socket such that the mirage drive is in the cone of the transducer signal can interfere with the return and cause a distorted display. I moved mine forward, almost to the sharp "V" of the hull, and it seems to work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:32 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:40 pm
Posts: 423
Since you have a 2014 model Outback, the transducer can be mounted in the "Lowrance ready" fitting directly if it's a Lowrance or by buying the Humminbird transducer adapter for $10 at your Hobie dealer.
The wiring requires no drilling as there is a port and starboard thru hole already installed......the Outback comes with a kit with a selection of wire plugs to seal the wires....based on the number of wires and actual overall wire diameter coming through the hull.
Next is mounting the fish finder display without drilling any extra holes.....some guys have used the cup holder with an pvc or wooden insert, some have used the mast mounting tube and then some have used bungee cords......this is where I would use a Ram mount as it provides easy mounting with only two screws to secure the 1" ball mount base......simple, easy and reliable....that's it.

_________________
Dr.SteelheadCatcher
Hood River, OR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:53 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:38 pm
Posts: 38
A 1" ram ball with a few screws won't hurt a thing.

This is how I had mine mounted with a wire cap from west marine.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:25 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:25 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for the advice! Yeah the transducer will not be a issue since the 2014's have a recessed area underneath for the transducer. Wanted to mount the display without having to drill. I like the Ram mount idea just hate the idea of drilling holes in my boat lol. I guess when the new wears off i'll go with that. I think I've figured a way to mount it with PVC and use the sail mount hole without having to drill. If that don't work then i'll have to drill. I'll post pics if it works! Thanks again for the responses!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:10 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:38 pm
Posts: 38
Not to keep going, but you could get the ram ball mount for the sail mount. No drilling there. I have the 1 1/2 for my PA14. It's plenty sturdy for a FF.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:33 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:25 pm
Posts: 4
Captain Yak did you have to cut a hole in the sail tube to run your wires up to it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:57 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:40 pm
Posts: 423
I currently own a 2013 PA-14 and I can tell you locating the fish finder display in the mast hole is waaaaayyyy to far for me to see and easily change screen views.....the same is true for my old Outback.
Based on owning two Hobie kayaks, using the 1" Ram ball mount is the easiest and best scheme.......I bought the 6" extension arm to get the display closer for changing the view.....it's mounted on the starboard, black mounting board on my PA-14.

_________________
Dr.SteelheadCatcher
Hood River, OR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:22 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 506
pdxfisher wrote:
I make a ring out of duct seal to create a small well. I put the transducer in the well and pour in a little water. I like this set up because I move the FF between several kayaks. I just run the cables for the transducer and the battery out the front hatch and then close and bungee it. I the bungee to both seal the hatch and to hold the FF in place. I am 6'3" and have long arms so I like having the head unit on the front hatch.

Here is a pick of how the head unit sits:

Image

Here is a pick of the well with the transducer sitting in it (in a different kayak). Please forgive the lens flare :)

Image


What is on the end of your rod in the first picture? A bowling ball?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:16 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:38 pm
Posts: 38
happy yaking wrote:
Captain Yak did you have to cut a hole in the sail tube to run your wires up to it?


I use it for a go pro. I no longer have my outback. I was showing you the mount as an option for your ff. If you were to use that mount, you would have to run the wire through the hatch. The wire and the mount won't fit through the sail post.

Your best bet is drilling and using the provided wire locations on your 2014. You won't regret it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:17 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:38 pm
Posts: 38
Dr.SteelheadCatcher wrote:
I currently own a 2013 PA-14 and I can tell you locating the fish finder display in the mast hole is waaaaayyyy to far for me to see and easily change screen views.....the same is true for my old Outback.
Based on owning two Hobie kayaks, using the 1" Ram ball mount is the easiest and best scheme.......I bought the 6" extension arm to get the display closer for changing the view.....it's mounted on the starboard, black mounting board on my PA-14.


This was only to show him the Ram sail mount. It's for a camera mount. Definitely too far away for a ff on the PA.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:12 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:48 am
Posts: 190
Location: Portland, OR
Thinwater skinner wrote:
pdxfisher wrote:
I make a ring out of duct seal to create a small well. I put the transducer in the well and pour in a little water. I like this set up because I move the FF between several kayaks. I just run the cables for the transducer and the battery out the front hatch and then close and bungee it. I the bungee to both seal the hatch and to hold the FF in place. I am 6'3" and have long arms so I like having the head unit on the front hatch.

Here is a pick of how the head unit sits:

Image

Here is a pick of the well with the transducer sitting in it (in a different kayak). Please forgive the lens flare :)

Image


What is on the end of your rod in the first picture? A bowling ball?


No, a sturgeon that was around 6 feet long. Gotta love living in Portland, OR.

_________________
Fish tremble when they hear my name :)

A ship in harbor is safe -- but that is not what ships are built for.
--John A. Shedd, Salt from My Attic, 1928


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:00 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:48 am
Posts: 190
Location: Portland, OR
FYI, here is a really nice video on the topic of through hull kayak transducer mounts that I looked at before deciding.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEZ9_C1iKP0

_________________
Fish tremble when they hear my name :)

A ship in harbor is safe -- but that is not what ships are built for.
--John A. Shedd, Salt from My Attic, 1928


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group