Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 1:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:40 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I live on a marsh in NE Florida and the Mirage system (Evolution Model)seems to be the perfect thing to explore this area. The one reservation I have concerns the oyster beds that are hidden just below the surface here. I don't want to have to replace the costly Mirage Drive each time I encounter one of these beds. I would love to purchase 2 Evolution models provided I had some way on knowing the drive units will hold up under these conditions. I might add that I am a novice to Kayaking and I am new to the area.
Any help in the matter is appreciated.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:14 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

lgibbs wrote:
The one reservation I have concerns the oyster beds that are hidden just below the surface here. I don't want to have to replace the costly Mirage Drive each time I encounter one of these beds.
Do NOT buy a Pedal Mirage if you plan on trying to pedal in shallow oyster bed reefs - you'll be frustrated.

I can't pedal my Outback right now in several areas due to seaweed that overwhelms the pedal units. I'd spend more time freeing the unit from seaweed than I would pedaling.

When you start pedaling in shallow area, you can bend your shafts to such a point that you can't even pedal the unit until you or someone else fixes it. Go with a regular paddle kayak for oyster reef areas.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:58 pm 
Authorized Hobie Dealer

Location: 315 N. Hwy 79 Panama City Beach, FL 32413 850-235-2281
I am also in NW Florida and use the mirage line of yaks all the time, we know where the beds are and simply pull the system out when we need to pass over suck areas, the replacement fins are cheep so get an extra pair when you buy the yaks for back up, stay away from the turbo kit, draws more water, however I have a rev in my back yard with turbo's...its awesome!