Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 8:32 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I have a pair of older mirage drives that I have been using now for about 5 years. Been rebuilt a few times and been using turbo fins on them for a few years. I find them to be very reliable except for an occasional cotter pin breakage.

In fact, I just put a new set of flippers and new pins on but ended up breaking a pin on the first trip out after 40 miles - yeah a real long trip on the Island.

I actually go so far as to buy & use the Hobie cotter pins #8060111.
Does anyone know of another more durable material or part to replace the cotter pin?
Is there a titainium or such pin?

I know some may suggest using plastic sprockets, but I have a pair of late '06 early '07 mirage drives with plastic sprockets and the thin drums and hollow arms which I don't trust for hard turbo fin use. Besides the problem would only shift from breaking a cotter pin to having the allen screw loosen up.

In 5 years use by my wife and I on these 2 drives, cotter pins have only broken about 7 or 8 times; or about 1 break per 80 outings. I never re-use old cotter pins and do replace them when I'm rebuilding drive or straightening the mast.

Any Ideas?

TIA

Yakaholic

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 2:23 pm 
Hobie Approved Guru

Hi Yak,

As your old stainless sprockets get more worn, I suspect your already loose masts are gaining more and more wobble room as they smack back and forth in their holes up to 3000 times an hour. This, when added to the small oscillating twisting moment the masts transmit from the fins against the cotter pins, gives those pins more stress than they are really designed to take. So your best solution may not lie with pin strength, but wobble management.