Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:08 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Admins, thanks for the quick activation.

I sailed a rental Hobie a few times in Biloxi while in Air Force tech school back in 1981. And now all these years later I have purchased one. I could count all my outings on my hands without using my toes. So I’m a newb who likes to read a lot and go for it.

I bought a 1981 H18 a couple of weeks ago and I have had it out in light winds three times now. It appears mostly original. Deviations include 1983 prism sails, number 13069. And black plastic rudder cams with one broken and a missing plunger. Jib furler is inop and needs a tune up kit and new line. The tramp looks new but not sure if its Hobie brand, how to tell? The traveler needs help, too. The hulls appear to be in good shape overall. I have read here where to look for problems and about soft spots and I think I’m ok there. The only thing is a couple of gel coat chips in the point of one bow and the gel coat is rubbed off the bottom of the hulls, it is transparent looking inside out through the ports. However there are no cracks even on the area near the rollers, I know I should change to padded troughs. But I’m not sure if I should brush new gel coat on the thin area that runs the full length of both hulls.

This forum seems cordial and I think you guys and gals can put up with my need for newb advice. So I would like to outline my plans for repairs and upgrades to get feedback and avoid the pitfalls of my own making. I can post pictures but the boat is at a friend’s house and not close by.

The primary sailing will be Smith Lake in NW Alabama, and the lake at Guntersville is not far away, probably better there but I want to get more familiar with sailing at the lake I know best.

So far, here is the “tack” I’m taking. Any and all help, opinions, and advice are most welcome.