Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Implosion
PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 3:45 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

This winter my friend needed some $ so myself and and another buddy decided to buy his H18 which had solid hulls, trailer, and sails in good condition. My 1982 boat I have been sailing for a few years has a very soft starboard hull but has held up well. I usually don't sail in >15kts as you tend to spill your beer or get seawater in it..unless the ocean is very calm. I have been looking for a good hull or hulls for a while so I was excited about the 'new' boat (1984)..and I could have 2 boats on the water if wanted. Got the new boat up and running with all of the best parts I have(harken blocks,quick pins, new lines...etc) Last month and made a few sails in mostly light wind ~ 5-10kts in calm seas ..booze crusing..no problems, the boat took on very little water and all was well.
Saturday the ocean was calm and the wind picked up to ~12kts or so and we took off...3 of us on what we thought would be some fun. Starboard tack out off the beach and moving but not screaming...I was on the wire just hanging, not flying a hull by any means and the ocean was very calm. About 10 minutes out it was a crack and we said "holy $#it" did the hull just go?" Sure enough..the mast came down slowly, everyone was ok. We were about a 1/2 mile or so off the beach. It took a while but we got the main off the mast and rolled it up, got the jib off and secured the mast to the starboard hull, secured everything else(cooler of beer intact! :)) and called the coast guard on ch 16. A tender arrived 30minutes later and refused to tow us. We got aboard the Coast Guard boat and they were off..didn't let us get anything off the boat. They dropped us off at a dock on the island.