Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: In Lieu of a Hobie 18
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 3:10 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am new to Hobie sailing and recently visited the local cat beach to watch the boats. The Hobie 18 seemed like the perfect boat, a crew of up to 4 and the ability to race if I choose.

As I am just finding out and you are all aware, the 18 is a thing of the past so I am faced with a decision, the 17 or the Tiger.

My only concern with the 17 is the low maximum weight of 400 lbs. While this is easy for 1 and not so bad for 2, 3 or more becomes difficult.

The Tiger on the other hand offers the capacity, but is a significant step up in price as well as complexity.

Can anyone offer any direction?

Thanks,

Glen

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:31 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

TXSail wrote:
I am new to Hobie sailing and recently visited the local cat beach to watch the boats. The Hobie 18 seemed like the perfect boat, a crew of up to 4 and the ability to race if I choose.

As I am just finding out and you are all aware, the 18 is a thing of the past so I am faced with a decision, the 17 or the Tiger.

My only concern with the 17 is the low maximum weight of 400 lbs. While this is easy for 1 and not so bad for 2, 3 or more becomes difficult.

The Tiger on the other hand offers the capacity, but is a significant step up in price as well as complexity.

Can anyone offer any direction?

Thanks,

Glen