Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:00 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Hi,
I'm relatively new to beach cats, just rented a couple. I'm looking at some 18's on craigslist. I want something fairly fast and with the potential to really push in the future as I get better. I'm looking at $1200 for an 18 in good condition or $3000 for an 18sx with wings, both have trailers. Is the sx worth the extra dough?
Any thoughts appreciated. I'm a fairly aggressive sailor and have done the everglades challenge in a small tri, now I want a little more go...
Thanks
J

the TI3 rear ama mod

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:26 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Condition, condition, condition determines the value 18 vs SX. SX wings in very good condition add about 800-1000 to the value to a standard 18. You need to examine the hulls of both boats for soft spots, wear on the bottom from being drug on the beach, are the sails still crisp. Personally I love the wings so much that when hobie was going to dq the 18 line I sold my eight year old 18 Magnum and ordered a new 18M and when it's not in the water it sits covered in the garage.

2001 H18 w/SX wings & spinnaker #16740 (purchased new)
1989 H18 w/SX wings #14565 (purchased new, sold 2000)
Would buy another if Hobie would build it.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:46 am 
Site Rank - Admiral

What do you plan on doing with it? Pleasure Cruise or Race?
The SX has the wings/ Spinnaker/ taller mast etc... If you are going to cruise, SX is more comfortable with the wings.. more excitement with the spinny etc... more weight and time to set up....but no racing fleet and cannot race with the 18 fleet (in class events)unless you get a stock 18 mast as an alternate (boats are the same) and sail without the wings.
If you plan to get into racing... go with the 18, the fleet is growing again and is very competitive