Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 11:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:09 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

i am a new owner of a older sx18, installing wings and new tramps, and beginning to wonder what may be easiest way for a 71 year old to raise and lower the mast. am not new to sailing, just to Hobie. also perhaps somebody in the jax fl area willing to assist in first trip out...

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:13 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Do you have help raising or lowering the mast or are you trying to do it solo? There are a few different techniques that are posted in various places around the Internet. I'm fairly new to the H18 as well, but have learned that the mast is very heavy and not something you want to just use your muscles to do.

My personal favorite choice is mast-up storage. Not raising and lowering the mast is the easiest thing to do.

If that isn't an option, then the next easiest is a winch and a gin pole. This is the path that I'll eventually move to when I need to move the boat next. Last time that I raised the mast, my wife used the winch and I lifted the mast by hand high enough for the winch to be able to start doing its work. Also, the mast likes to fall sideways if not appropriately secured during the process. I highly recommend searching "mast stepping hobie" on the Internet. There are many many ideas on how to do it.

Bob

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 6:48 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

The simplest, cheapest way is to raise the mast with two people. One person picks up the tip of the mast and hands it to the other person standing on the tramp. That person holds the mast and the first person then walks up and climbs onto the tramp and both people raise the mast together. Once it's up, one person jumps down and pins the forestay.