Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:04 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hey guys, new to the Hobie way of life and this forum. I am a born-again sailor, did sailing camp for a few years during the summer when I was little, then had a sudden epiphany and decided to really get into it during this past summer, and bought a Hobie 18. I'm 20 years old now and I guess I'm a bit of a newbie, but I'm wanting to plan a Florida Keys trip with a friend. I've been doing some research, and any tips from personal experience is very welcome. Really would want to get a 21 Sport Cruiser and do it, but they're so dang hard to find.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:42 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

It all kind of where in the keys you plan to go, Key West is nice but not real sailing friendly (not a lot of good places to launch and parking is a real (censored)).
I would refrain from going too far out west from Key West, it's very shallow most everywhere and can be dangerous out there (smugglers and drug runners, and coral heads), don't land on the remote islands. Get the Dry Tortugas out of your mind right away, it's too far and way too dangerous especially this time of year with winds from the north, even in the summer unless your with a really seasoned group with support ships, it's just not worth the risks especially alone.
We like to launch south of the island (there is a concrete ramp near Higgs beach), it's relatively safe south of the island, and you can jump off and snorkel pretty much anywhere (it's all pretty shallow). Just don't go out too far without lots of local knowledge, going 5 miles out to the reefs might sound inviting, but can be dangerous (it sucks to be blown out to sea, Key west is a just tiny dot in the giant ocean).
I would stay away from Mallory square, the current there is intense and there is way too much boat traffic (including cruise ships lol).