Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:12 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: A few basic questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:59 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am just starting out with Hobie 16's and loving it so far. There are a few questions that I have:

1) I have a loose cleat on my mast. What is the best way to deal with this. I believe that it is the jib cleat.

2) If you get water in your mast, how do you get it out? Same hole? What if you capsize and the leak is at the tip. After righting you determine that you have water in the mast, how would you know how to get it out? This is hypothetical, I have not tested my mast for leaks and everything looks good so far, except that one loose cleat.

3) There is a 1" gouge up high in one hull. It might lead to a small leak, what is the best epoxy/bondo to use to repair this. It will not take much more than a tablespoon to fill. How do you finish the repair after sanding, is painting necessary?

4) I have keyhole dogbones, with which end to you hook into the harness?

5) I would like to remove the rudders for a long trailer ride. It looks like you just remove the two bolts on each rudder. My questions is, when I do this what will fall out? What more needs to be removed in order to trailer safely?

6) How do you set the shroud tension. From what I have read it seems that you do not want to have too much forward mast rake. Where do I set this to get good a reasonable first guess?

7) My sails have number 356 on them. Are they antiques? :)

Thanks in advance for all your help,

-Brad

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:07 am 
Hobie Approved Guru

BradO wrote:
1) I have a loose cleat on my mast. What is the best way to deal with this. I believe that it is the jib cleat.