Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 10:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:11 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Just bought a H16 last week and had it out last weekend for the first time. I had been on a cat a few times, but never in decent wind and always as crew being directed (I'm a total beginner). My first day out was a blast. It was pretty windy (made me a little nervous), but I got the hang of things quickly. I brought my father in law who had a hobie 20 years back as my instructor.

The wind was coming from behind/across the boat/across the launch ramp and I was worried that the boat would flip off the trailer with the heavy wind, even with the sails uncleated. I ended up hoisting the sails on the water which was pretty hard with the wind blowing balancing on the front of one hull.

Do you typically put the sails up before launch? The wind was blowing pretty good, but not over 25 MPH or so (I think). I could just envision the boat off the trailer tumbling across the concrete and I figured I should play it safe. Is this something to worry about?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:44 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

It is. I've seen boats pushed into towing vehicles after the tie downs are removed. Getting the jib up on the water isn't a problem but the main on a 16 can be a struggle.

Can you launch and get the boat to a beach to rig the sails? Is there a beach that you could use beach wheels to move the boat to the water? The local launch ramp where I live is dead down wind so I use wheels and launch at a park close to the house. It adds some time but is much safer. All I have to do is watch out for snorkeling tourists. :twisted:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:33 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I am experiencing the same issues and questions as i begin sailing my Hobie 16 this season. I learned a few lessons the hard way, and got some good advice here.