Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 4:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:54 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi everyone, I'm new here.

We live in Costa Rica, and we are trying to start the first adult's sailing school in the country ever! We have a chance to get a decent older hobie 16 to use to teach lessons, and we need help to do it.

We've got a campaign running to help raise the money & supplies, but I thought I'd ask here for any ideas, suggestions, & advice since I've never done this before.

If any of you can help us in some way, the support would be much appreciated.

Thanks for any help you can give!

This is the cat that we have an option to buy. There are only three in the whole country, and this is the only one in operational condition so we have to jump at the chance:

Last edited by captain.k on Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:16 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Anyone got a suggestion on whether a kickstarter is better than a fundme, or if a kiva is better than a kickstarter?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:21 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I'm sorry you aren't getting any suggestions, but I don't have experience with sailing schools so I can't really help. My one thought is that a 16 might not be the best training boat. They are performance boats with limitations on buoyancy and ease of use. The price is probably right, though. Are there any other options? Many monohulls are much easier to rig and sail, although they are generally less exciting to sail. Who is your target audience?

'00 H16 #104691
'78 H16 #32692 ex-rental [gone]
Old Holsclaw trailer
My Hobie 16 pages

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:15 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I agree, a Hobie is not a good boat to teach beginners with. A docile monohull is a much better choice.

Now if you are trying to figure out a way to get a free Hobie, I understand! :wink:

Too many canoes and kayaks