Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:55 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I'm still a bit new to the Hobie Cat world and had a couple questions. What is the preferred order for doing things to get a boat from the trailer to the water? Right now, here is my current order:

1. Clear off the trampoline and get the wire ties off the mast.
2. Pin mast, put it up, pin forestay, unpin mast hinge.
3. Trailer the boat over to the ramp.
4. Put both jib and main up, leaving sheets loose (ramp is very sheltered)
5. Drive down to ramp, untie and push boat off trailer.
6. Install rudder assembly
7. Paddle out of ramp area
8. Lock down rudders and sheet in.

Is there a better way to put the rudders on? Right now I leave everything assembled and just pull the pins. This feels like it really takes 3 people: One to hold up the tiller bar, and one to handle each rudder. I'd also like to install the rudders on land but can't for a couple reasons. The area is shallow and the rudders can't be down all the way until I get out a bit. And I can never get them to stay in the up position.

Has anyone come up with a way to drop the jib while on the water and not get wet? I think I can lock/unlock the main from the trampoline. But trying to come up with a way to drop a small anchor to go swimming.

Last edited by ohlins8990 on Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:10 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

like..you have this!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:53 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt