Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 8:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: forestay
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:09 am 
Site Rank - Captain

I have another question. How tight do I have to get my forestay? And how do I do it. Coz when I tight up my jib, the forestay gets loosen. Does it have to be this way? Should I loosen up my jib? or what I am doing? Sorry for the dumb questions, Im a noob. :D

Post subject: Re: forestay
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:26 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

If we are talking about the Hobie 16, this is normal. When you hoist the jib and pull tension on the jib halyard, the jib luff wire will take over the role of the forestay. The forestay itself will go slack.

S/V Sarge
1985 Hobie 16 Signature Model
Sail Number 82009 "Summer Games"

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:28 am 
Site Rank - Captain

And how slack does it have to be?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:03 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

The amount of slack in the forestay is unimportant once you have the jib halyard tensioned and cleated. You will probably have about 4 to 6 inches of slack in the forestay, but this could vary depending on how far back you rake your mast.

S/V Sarge
1985 Hobie 16 Signature Model
Sail Number 82009 "Summer Games"

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:45 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I use to sail mine with very little slack (maybe 2 or 3 inches) !!! However, I've seen them with as much as a foot of slack. Most of them that have that much slack use a bungee to pull it close to the bridle (no tension). Whatever works for you but as Bartley said, it's unimportant !!! :)

David

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:06 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral