Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:54 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 467
Anyone got the measurements in English on the trap lines for an FX One? The FX One is not on the wire guide.

I hope Hobie USA puts some of its good parts record keeping skills into Hobie Europe...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:35 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:45 pm
Posts: 1665
Location: Northfield Minnesota
Just make them whatever length you want. I splice the top, then just adjust the handle height with the boat rigged. It also gives you a chance to get some weight on them and stretch them in prior to leaving the beach.

I use the Robline 3mm dyneema, it's the easiest I've used so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:03 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:52 pm
Posts: 105
Hobie sell an adjustable arrangement so you can fiddle with your trap line as you sail. Have a look at that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:45 pm
Posts: 1665
Location: Northfield Minnesota
A dog bone is all you need for adjustment on the water.

Granted, I have long arms, but the handles are always set way too low. When on the wire they should be almost out of reach. With your arm extended is where you have the most strength. If you're pulling yourself up at a low handle height, it is really hard, or at least harder than it needs to be. That's the sweetest thing to me about using line for trapezes, it is extremely simple to customize them. Factory stuff is made to fit everyone, so it doesn't work for hardly anyone well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:08 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:35 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Are you saying you use line instead of Wire (coming down from the Mast Tang) for your lines??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:24 am 
Offline
Hobie Tech / Moderator

Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 1:12 pm
Posts: 1012
The stock trap lines are spectra on FX 1's

We have them in stock complete - just order from any Hobie Cat dealer toll free 1800hobie49

_________________
Jacques Bernier
http://www.hobiecat.com/
http://www.facebook.com/HobieCatCompany


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:15 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:35 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
ok, what is Spectra?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:45 pm
Posts: 1665
Location: Northfield Minnesota
sxrracer wrote:
Are you saying you use line instead of Wire (coming down from the Mast Tang) for your lines??



Correct. For the trapeze. I don't trust my splicing abilities to do the standing rigging that way, though there are plenty of boats that have it. Rod rigging is really the way to go there, but stupid expensive. Zero stretch, you set rig tension, and it's there.

Spectra, dyneema, same stuff. Just a high tech line. 1/8 is just as strong as it's wire component. I think it breaks around 1200#'s For trap lines I just use a single braid 12 pleat(sp). Amsteel is a 10 I believe, and it's a MF'r to get a fid through. That and the Robline are the only two I've really played with.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:19 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 4:47 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Odense, Denmark
Here are the measurements that i got from Hobie France

The trapeze wire for FX-One with wings is longer than the one without
17560560 : 5930 mm
17560570 : 5680 mm

If you are using the adjustable option, you'll have to shorten the wire/spectra 100-140mm

_________________
Poul
FxOne 165
Image
I'd Rather Regret The Things I Did, Than The Things I Didn't


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX One trap lines
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:39 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 467
Yeah, thank you, pbekkerh. I did a search and found where you had posted that in another thread. The old trap lines measured 19' 4 3/4". 5930 mm is about 19' 5".

So Karl is right too. Make them just out of reach. The Einstein of the cat sailors, he is.

Last year, one of the spare set of trap lines came untied somehow. Luckily it came fluttering down from the mast tang before being hooked up to anything. Never figured out what happened. It has a brummel bury splice and once the eye is locked it is can't come untied, so I thought. It wasn't cut either. It was a scary dark mystery...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSNbot Media and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group