Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: shroud tension?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:09 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi,

I'm a Getaway noob. I must step / unstep the mast each time I sail the boat, so I wanted to make it as easy as possible. Therefore I replaced the tang / clevis pin adjustment hardware above the jib furler with a quick release d-ring. I figure that I will just add additional d-rings if I need to lengthen the headstay.

I've only sailed the boat twice, but I found the following:

(1) In order for me to be able to attach that d-ring at the bottom of the headstay, the shrouds had to be loose enough such that when sailing, the leward shroud was unbelievably loose.

(2) The boat gets stuck in irons more often than not when tacking. Only half jokingly my family has named the boat "The Untackable". (Our Laser is named "The S.S. Leaky".) I find myself doing "chicken tacks". i.e. I basically gybe it for almost all turns.

I'd love to hear some advice on how to tune the shrouds / headstay.

Thanks,

TJ

Post subject: Re: shroud tension?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 10:24 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

A few thoughts:

The general consensus on the forums is to not use quick release fittings on any standing rigging as they do on occasion open when you don't want them to.