Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: from sailing to kiting
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:11 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am a proud new member of the Hobie community. I got my Wave two weeks ago, have had it out about 6 times. That is my only experience with a sailboat (I have many years of windsurfing experience from about 20 years ago).

Yesterday, the wind forecast was 20mph with gusts up to 30mph. I and my wife went to Lake Waconia, MN, which is one of the biggest lakes around the Twin Cities (to my excuse I can say that we tried a smaller lake first, but the boat access was temporarily closed). We did not regret, we had a lot of fun sailing on the edge and hiking out all the way. After my wife wanted to take a break, I went out solo and continued to have fun until I capsized. I had practiced righting before, so there was nothing to be afraid of. So I wanted to swim around the rear of the boat to get the bottom side of the boat. There was a point when I was holding just the rudder and that's when I lost the boat. The rudder blade was just too thin and slippery for me to hold it, it just slipped off from my hands and the boat started to drift away real fast, no way could I catch it. It looked like a long swim for me and I was really worried about what would have happened when the boat hit the shore. Then a good Samaritan turned up, and he came on a KITE. A nice gentlemen on a kiteboard first asked me if I was ok and then gave me a ride to my boat. He dropped his board and with me holding on to his equipment body-dragged both of us down the wind. It took us a while to reach the boat as I had to let go a couple of times when I was loosing my pants or skin on my hands. But he was really skillful and we reached the boat in time. I was exhausted but very happy and thankful to the guy who sacrificed good 20 minutes of good ride to help me.