Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 02, 2024 6:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Wave racing questions!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:49 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Fellow Wave sailors and racers in general...I am a novice multi-hull sailor and a racing newbie. We have the Wine and Roses regatta coming up out here in Santa Barbara and I am thinking of entering, for the sake of meeting some Hobie people and having some competitive fun on my boat. I have a completely stock 2002 Hobie Wave Club, except for the trampoline. I've never raced a sailboat of any type before, but I did watch quite a bit of the America's cup last year :D Anyway, here are my questions in no particular order:

1. Where is the best place to learn the rules of racing, in a simple format for the newbie?
2. What if anything will I need to do to my boat?
3. Do I need to join the HCANA? If I don't need to, should I?
4. I have an aftermarket trampoline on my boat. Am I out of luck or can I race for the fun of it anyway?
5. Any tuning tips?
6. Any sailing tips?
7. Should I forget the whole idea an just go watch?

Any help would be much appreciated!!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:59 am 
Site Rank - Captain

And another question:

My sail doesn't have any numbers. Where do the sail numbers come from?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:30 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

1... At a regatta :) Port tack must keep clear of Starboard. Windward needs to keep clear of Leeward.. That is all you NEED to know to enjoy your first boat race... Everything else will come with time or be covered at the skippers meeting.

This game is pretty handy if you want to go deeper http://game.finckh.net/indexe.htm

2 Get it on the water :D

3. It depends on the regatta.. If it is HCANA regatta, yes.. If it isn't you still should join anyway.. Supporting the class means once you get hooked (which you will) the class will be there to support you. :)

http://www.hcanamembers.com/