Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: new wave
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:43 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

hello. i recently purchased a wave and so far am pretty happy. i'm fairly new to sailing (i guess a sunfish doesn't really count), but this boat seems to suit your average recreational sailor. the boat seems to move pretty fast although i have no experience with larger boats and am unaware at their speeds. i was curious how much more the larger boats were and what the performance advantages are. it seems almost no one has the smaller, recreational boats while everyone has the 16's, tigers, etc. i was also wondering if it was possible to affix outriggers to this boat w/o voiding warranty, etc. thanks. and if i can answer any questions about the boat, since it seems this is a new section, let me know.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 3:24 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I think the just the hull shape and overall part quality is what makes the difference. The wave and getaway are fairly new boats and are still making thier enterance into the market im guessing. The hobie 16s have been around for a long time.

As far as preformance goes, I'd be willing to bet that the racing boats just have more sail area (not to mention a boom) and more preformace hulls.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 8:25 am 
Site Rank - Captain

First of all, most sailors learned the nuts and bolts of sailing on small boats like Sunfish/Lasers. Just like most Indy 500 drivers started in sprint cars or smaller. Don't discount the experience gained from small, responsive boats. Larger boats are much slower to react, making it more difficult to learn the cause and effect.