Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 12:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:05 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Is there a logical reason that Hobie offers the Lowrance 4x Pro fish finder? Is it the Hobie recommended model for their kayaks? A highly thought out recommendation?
Or is it just because Hobie may have purchased a large number of that particular model?
I'm in the market for a finder and there is a wide selection and price range. I have very little experience with fish finders and would be welcome to expert advise on what to get. I would be needing it for local small lakes.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 4:54 am 
Site Rank - Admiral

In my opinion, I think it is geared more towards the size of the unit relative to the space available on most Hobies and the ability to still use the Mirage drive and still be able to have some space fee in the footwell area. Clutter kills when it comes to fishing.

PowerTeam Lures - deadly on bass!!! use promo code "HANOVER" at checkout for a 15% discount

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:53 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

I'm sure the Lowrance is a good unit - unless and until that combined power and transducer cord corrodes or gets a bad connection. Then you have to replace the whole transducer and cord assembly together. Not so clever.

Humminbird offers units of the same size, with separate power and transducer cables, great customer service, and an "even swap" transducer exchange program so you can opt for something other than the supplied transom mount. I went with the dual-beam Piranha Max 170 unit and traded for a flush-mount through hull transducer. Yes, it requires a 2" hole in the hull, but it only protrudes 0.2" from the hull. It also gives an instant temperature reading as well as crystal clear bottom images.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:50 pm 
Site Rank - Captain