Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Dagger board repair
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:11 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hello my fellow Tiger friends,

After a great day of sailing I entered the marina a little too close to the edge and the daggerboard hit a rock. Now the tip is somewhat spliced, and you can see the inside of the dagger.

Does anyone have some good tips on how to repair this?

Thanks
Jeronimo!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:11 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I'm no great expert - but did a similar repair to a Hobie 18 dagger board back when I owned an 18SX. I dried out the board really well (kept it inside in the air conditioning for a week), and raked out the debris that was trapped in the split end of the board. I then made a thin mixture of west system epoxy with some high density adhesive filler (no colloidal silica as I wanted it to flow well). After wetting out the inside of the split with just plain west system epoxy I then spooned in the mixture with the adhesive filler. I then wrapped cling film (saran wrap) over the repair area and clamped the two sides of the repair area with wooden blocks to close up the split.

Once this had cured I faired out the repair with west system, micro balloons and colloidal silica and then sprayed it with marine enamel (this looks OK but obviously won't hold up like gel coat).

If you want to use gel coat on the repair then I think you have to use polyester resin instead of epoxy resin - from what I can remember gelcoat does not adhere as well to an epoxy repair area. However I have never mixed polyester resin with filler to repair a split.

Good luck with the repair,

Chris.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:52 am 
Site Rank - Captain

I tried Bondo. Worked well but eventually it came out.