Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 11:32 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:12 am
Posts: 34
Watching LV cup, I noticed the tactician takes the helm during jibes while the skipper crosses the boat.
Is something similar allowed during a Hobie race?

Back in the day, my buddy was a better downwind sailor and I was better upwind. We talked about sailing together and handing over the helm at top mark and back at the bottom mark.
Is that legal?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 3:31 pm 
Offline
Hobie Approved Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 7:11 pm
Posts: 4580
Location: Detroit, MI
There's nothing in the Racing Rules of Sailing or the IHCA Class Rules prohibiting it, so it is legal in normal Hobie Class events.

The only time it wouldn't be legal would be in a special event of some sort (like a pro-am), and then the prohibition would appear in both the Notice of Race (NOR) and the sailing instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group