Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:16 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 28
I would like a depth sounder on my new 2015 Tandem Island.

I've noticed that often Fishfinders provide that function at less cost than a single-function depth sounder. I note that the 2015 TI is Lorance (R) Ready.

When you watch the video on the Hobie Company's website about the Lorance Ready feature, the narrator says that the Transducer is for a Lorance DSI-type Fish Finder. Going to Lorance's website and finding the same transducer depicted in the video, the information is that it works with either the Elite 5 DSI or 5x DSI or the Mark 5X DSI Fishfinder.

Is the Lorance Ready System really limited to that Transducer and therefore those particular Fishfinders? One may already be discontinued. I realize models of electronic products have a short marketlife, but I already have an inexpensive fishfinder from Huminbird for use on a Sea Eagle FoldCat. I'd just as soon adapt it and maybe a shape-compatible transducer from Humnbird; if such exists.

Would anyone on the forum and the Hobie company care comment?

Thank you.

~John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 7:48 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: High Point, NC
Due to there being so many different sized and shaped transducers on the market these days, it's probably impossible to design a "transducer ready" option that will work with all of them. Why Hobie chose Lowrance as the single option I have no idea. You'd have to ask them.

Once I tried a Garmin FF I haven't looked back at my Lowrance or Eagle units. But there are various ways to mount transducers other than Lowrance. Granted it won't be as easy as the built in option, but it's not a terrible big deal. We were all doing this before the "Lowrance ready" feature was added to the boats. You can certainly get your current FF and transducer to work, but you may have to go a different route than using the Lowrance appendage found on the boat.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:03 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:47 am
Posts: 6
I had the same concerns. There are some useful videos out there of guys mounting other brands of tranducers into the Lowrance Ready system.

I would recommend this video as one example.

There may be others out there. Cheers! Let us know if you find more info.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PWeRKyAT-E


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:15 pm 
Online
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Bethany, OK
The Lowrance mount really is pretty basic, ought to be reasonably useful for other transducers. You unscrew the plate under the hull and inside it has two sets of fingers sticking up 2-3". The transducers have an arm that angles up and forward with an eye to bolt them to a mount. You put that eye between the fingers, then pick the best-fitting of some bits of molded plastic Hobie supplies in the mounting kit. These have teeth on one side to mate with the transducer arm, and a ridge on the other side that slides in the fingers of the mounting plate. Find the bits that hold everything best, run a bolt through it all, tighten so the bottom of the transducer is just above the plate.

The only issue will be size, if the transducer body will even fit, and that's an issue with some Lowrance models now too.

I have an Elite 5 CHIRP which fit just fine, but I keep thinking I might prefer to have it inside the hull up toward the bow. That Lowrance pocket is toward the back of my TI so I'm essentially seeing where I've already been... (I'm just using it for depth / charting as well, I don't fish.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:38 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:57 am
Posts: 198
Location: Fairfax, CA USA
I've got a Dragonfly mounted in the lowrance ready on my AI. The dragonfly probably has the largest transducer, and most idiotic wiring scheme of the modern fish finders, but it still fits. You do have to take a dremel to the cover, but that's easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 7:32 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:47 am
Posts: 6
hi coachstevo

I am considering a Dragonfly for my TI. I thought the single wiring harness would be convenient. No? What hassle did you have?

Also, does the Dragonfly work well in saltwater while mounted under and in contact with the Lowrance-ready cover?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 5:31 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:57 am
Posts: 198
Location: Fairfax, CA USA
The single harness is super convenient, once you get it installed. My soft brain had a hard time pulling the wires thru for the fittings. No big deal.
I only use it in the salt, and it is amazing. Most of our fishing where we need to see structure takes place in less than 180 feet. The clarity of the images at about 100 or so is ridiculous. I can easily see rockfish hanging on boulders, and salmon under bait.
I wish I had bought the 7inch, I have the 5, as the split screen is pretty small, but that's just a nit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], RandomJoe and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group