Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:57 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
I have seen a few camera mounts for the AI. Some are a little invasive as they require permanent new holes being drilled into the body. I was wondering whether anyone has successfully tried using the existing fishing rod holders to place camera rods/mounts? Thanks for your ideas...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:30 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:19 am
Posts: 182
Location: Australia
Astro has done this using a Scotty rod holder I believe, and to great effect.

_________________
Blue Water Kayak Fishing guy: SL Hobie
http://slhobie.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:41 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
First construction trial... 20$ in tubes, links, and elbows, 39$ for professional camera mount...

Image

View from the mounted camera. The white tubing will fade once painted red...

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:37 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
This is the final product ;-) maybe some tweaking and final adjustments, but I think it is stable will serve its purpose.

Image

Please note, the padding where the tubes touch the kayak. Now I am just waiting for wind...

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:39 am
Posts: 863
Location: Bairnsdale, Victoria Australia
Very inovative and practical IkosTri. I am thinking I might make somthing similar so please post some results of your tests with it on Youtube with a link here. What mount is that in the pic and are you happy with it?....Pirate

_________________
Master of the galleon 'Pirates Lot'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:10 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
Thanks. The mount is called a "Promaster" and I have yet to find something it can't be clamped to... Solid mount for a 39$ product.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:04 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 74
how would you activate the camera...remote control???

i haven't set up the scotties yet...still sorting a couple of logistics issues


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:37 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
Currently, I only use a cheap camera without remote... so I run the whole time, then clip the vid... first test can be found on facebook

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/pages/Hobie-Mirage-Adventure-Island-Sailing-Kayak-Owners-Club/130903106553

If you don't do facebook, let me know and I will put it on Youtube...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:31 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
Here is another video taken in much more wind than the first. It is a little bouncy in waves, need to tuck it down a little more...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9gJEptzc7g

Same video on Facebook looks much better, don't know what youtube does with uploads ;-(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:04 pm
Posts: 20
And another upload to youtube, hopefully a little better quality (720p)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tL4aWGx01s


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group