Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:17 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi AIers
- I've sailed with AIers who have broken many, few, and no rudder pins. I have been sailing my AI for three years often in high and gusty winds and in shallow waters. I have never broken a rudder pin (until my next sail). Maybe I'm just lucky, or it's something about how I sail, or that I don't secure the rudder down line.
- So here's the survey:
1. How many rudder pins have you broken?
2. Do you secure the rudder down line?
3. Did your broken pins occur with rudder down line secured?
--------------- Al K

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:22 am 
Site Rank - Admiral

I haven't actually broken a pin, but one got fairly mangled when I was having problems with the old rudder up / down system, where the rudder would pop up whenever there was a strong wind. With the rudder half up having popped off, there was a lot of leverage being put on the pin.

Since fitting the later system together with a completely new rudder assembly (without the lock down bolt), I have not had a problem. I sail with it locked down tight all the time and rely on the dagger board touching down first to give me early warning. I do not bungee the dagger board down, so it can freely swing back in the shallows if need be. I have inadvertently had the rudder hit the bottom whilst locked down, but only whilst moving very slowly going to the beach. Other than it not being big enough, it is working ok.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:42 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Al Kube wrote:
Hi AIers
- I've sailed with AIers who have broken many, few, and no rudder pins. I have been sailing my AI for three years often in high and gusty winds and in shallow waters. I have never broken a rudder pin (until my next sail). Maybe I'm just lucky, or it's something about how I sail, or that I don't secure the rudder down line.
- So here's the survey: