Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 7:03 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I have been chosen as a "test pilot" by a company that makes racks for trucks. They need pictures of my kayaks on their racks and in return, I get a greatly reduced price.

I used to transport my AIs using Hullavators on my Honda Odyssey and they worked great. I bought a Ridgeline to tow a bigger sailboat and I thought I'd just be able to use my Hullavators on the Ridgeline with the factory roof racks. WRONG.

Considering that the roof rack from Honda is rated for 110 pounds I would have been over the weight limit with one AI so this rack might be my only option. This is my first attempt at putting boat boats on the rack and am not sure about how far forward they should be. The way they are now, they are balanced on the cradles but I'm concerned about how far back they are. Any opinions?

By the way, does anyone want to buy 2 used Hullavators? :)

PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 8:21 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

OK, a few thoughts:
- As I understand it, the weight limits for racks relate more to the stability (height) of the vehicle than the strength of the rack or rails. My roofracks are rated 130 pounds on my Subaru Forester, but the same racks are rated 175 pounds on my wife's little Toyota Corolla. Those limits include a fair margin for error, so if you don't go cornering at high speed with the boat loaded, you shouldn't have to worry much. Also, the amount of instability would be much the same whether you were using the Honda racks or the truck racks.
- That's quite a bit of rear overhang. Do your local regulations permit that much? In any case, it would be wise to hang a red rag from the rear of the boat for the benefit of anyone behind you. Also, you would need to be careful turning in narrow streets, or the rear of the boat may swing around and hit someone or something.