Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:46 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:01 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

The topic of jib physics came up in another post so I thought it would make an interesting discussion since there is some debate on this. First, I am no expert, just fascinated by the topic.

Conventional thought has been that the jib creates a slot between the main and jib and that this slot feeds air to the back of the main. The idea being that the air is speed up on the backside of the main and the mainsails lift is enhanced.

The other theory I have read is that air in the slot actually slows down and this slower air creates greater pressure on the windward side of the jib. This actually enhances the Jibs lift. On the other hand the slower air in the slot will degrade the lift of the main. The overall effect is has to be more lift, thus the greater boat speed. The jib flies at a higher angel of attack than the main and redirects the apparent wind to the main by about 10 degrees. This redirected air allows for the main to function without luffing when the boat is pointed higher. Recent research supports this theory.

I like the second theory if for no other reason than what I am seeing when sailing the jib on the AI. I have noticed on my boat, (and others when viewing YouTube) that when the sails are working hard, a dimple forms in the luff of the mainsail. This occurs about half way up the luff and the main, in this area, is slightly directed windward vs the normal leeward. The rest of the main looks normal in shape. It doesn't happen at low speeds, only high. I don't have video of this in my boat but you can see this in this YouTube video at about :20.

https://youtu.be/R3K_MQsaYvE