Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:39 pm
Posts: 11
I am ready to buy a Fishfinder/GPS, looking seriously at the Humminbird 385 CI Color Kayak Combo Sonar GPS. Looking to mount it at the front of the PA in the hole where the sail mast goes. Any ideas on what to use to mount it there?Has anyone tried to mount the transducer on the petal plug? Also how would one go about mounting the transducer in a scupper hole? I have a bassyak kit for propulsion with 2 batteries and would only be using the petals when in a tournament or in emergencies. I have no expirence with fishfinders or transducers so all advise is welcome. :?
David b


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:34 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:03 pm
Posts: 236
David -
Can't comment on the transducer locations you suggest - I use a through-the-hull water mount just forward of the mast base. With respect to the mounting location for your console, though, I would seriously reconsider using the mast hole. I find myself frequently changing settings on the FF as depths and conditions change. My console is rail mounted where it is easily accessable without having to get up out of the seat. I think that having your console so far forward would make it difficult to read and difficult to adjust. Others have mounted in that location, so I will let them chime in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:03 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 6:04 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Atlanta, GA.
I am using the blank mirage cassette to hold my Humminbird DI puck. Since you have the same system (motorized), this could be a great location. I would put the unit closer to arms reach, and would step up to the next better sonar. If you are not considering the Humminbird® 587ci HD Sonar Internal GPS Fishfinder Combo, for a few dollars more, you are making a big mistake. For $69 more you are getting something that fits the PA, and is so much better in every aspect.

Go BIG or go home!!!! That's not me talking, It's YOUR PA.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:15 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:29 am
Posts: 425
I also mounted my FF off the railing but I used Scotty clamp on mounts, and a Scotty FF mount that is bolted to a Mad Frog Liberator mount with a transducer arm. everything is easily reached and no holes were drilled anywhere. the battery is a small 5 amp battery mounted in a plastic waterproof box from Walmart.
pictures here:
http://www.hobiecat.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=33618&p=134775#p134775
before you mount your FF in the mast hole try sitting in the seat and reaching foward to where your FF would be like you were going to change the settings, awkward? uncomfortable?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:07 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:39 pm
Posts: 11
Model to be used is not really decided yet, nor location, do want to make sure it is in color and has the gps built in. Question on transducer, someone mentioned that they would use a resin filler with the transducer when mounted in the hull rather than other materials due to less bubbles, what is this material named etc? Also looked at the Mad frog transducer arm but was wondering if it is long enough as the PA has a higher ride.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:17 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2092
Location: High Point, NC
Hobie, and other kayak makers, now offer precut foam beds for the popular skimmer type transducer used by Lowrance, Eagle, Garmin and Humminbird. You can easily make your own, or spend the $5 or so for one already nicely cut.

Glue it to the hull bottom with Goop. Let set overnight. Just shove your transducer into it and perhaps put in a cap of water to fill in any voids and you're set.

I went a step further, as usual, and installed a length of rubber tubing that runs from the side/bottom of the foam block to a position in the hull next to my seat. At the beginning of the day I just pour a capful of water into the tube and it runs down into the foam and fills in any voids. I never have to bother opening a hatch or doing anything down "in the bilge."

You can also just stick the transducer down into the foam upon some Goop or similar adhesive. But you run the risk of trapping bubbles which will interfere with its performance, and you can't pull the transducer in and out to use in other kayaks, if you need to do that.

Just some ideas for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:18 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:29 am
Posts: 425
David,
The Mad Frog's transducer arm is plenty long enough for a PA, I have been using it successfully with my PA for over a year with no problems. I was worried that the arm would be fragile and easily broken but I have run the PA ashore more than a few times and I forgot to flip up the arm, did not hurt or break anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:03 pm
Posts: 236
David-
Most guys seem to use Marine Goop to directly attach their transducer to the inside of the hull. This works OK for shallow water, but I found that you lose some power and hence lose ability to see things in deeper water. I did my inital install that way, and it was fine at first, but got progressively worse as the season progressed. At the end of the season I pulled the transducer and found that hundreds of tiny bubbles (not present at install) had formed in the Goop. So this season I am using a through-the-hull water mount using the Hobie foam block, as Tom has described. Works much better than the Goop. This will also allow me to easily remove the transducer at the end of the season and adapt it to a portable rig for ice fishing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:45 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:33 am
Posts: 39
I rigged my transducer just behind the sailing mast pole with GOOP (I took the mast pole out when I did this for easier access of the area). I affixed it there, because if I wanted some protection of the transducer when I put stuff in the hull...
For power, I'm using a rechargable deer feeder battery in a dry box. This is zip tied to the mast pole.

I used an Eagle Cuda 350 GPS /FF combo (black & white). It was $189 at Cabellas (plus I had a coupon for 20% off!).

I've only had it in the water a couple times, but love the set up!

I used a Ram Mount on the port side mounting rail. It's easy to angle it and remove it when I store or transport the PA...

God Bless,
Doc S

_________________
Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:06 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:44 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Nashville, TN
atavuss wrote:
David,
The Mad Frog's transducer arm is plenty long enough for a PA, I have been using it successfully with my PA for over a year with no problems. I was worried that the arm would be fragile and easily broken but I have run the PA ashore more than a few times and I forgot to flip up the arm, did not hurt or break anything.



This is how I done mine recently with the Madd Frog Mini Liberator and it's working very well.

I started out using Lexell and placing it in the hull of the kayak, but then when I started getting more and more kayaks for fishing and could only use the Fish Finder in one kayak I was disapointed. So I bought several Madd Frog Liberator Mini's and installed them on several kayaks. I attached the transducer arm to the transducer and now I just switch the arm and transducer out from kayak to kayak. Only one bolt and very easy to do. I now get better readings, and the surface water temps are more accurate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:37 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 3:15 pm
Posts: 175
Location: Camas, WA
Anyone got an opinion on the Hummingbird Fishing Buddy 140c or similar portable unit?

_________________
It's a good Life, Let's sail!

iHop

Dune TI - 6/4/2011
Camas, WA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:09 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:10 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Southeast Texas
I have mine mounted in the front of the sail mast also, I used the grease provided and have had trouble with the depth readings. I would use Marine GOOP next time.

_________________
Brandon Boren


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:27 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2092
Location: High Point, NC
Goop generally cures filled with little bubbles. Pour out a dollop on a card and just let it do it's thing. I think you'll find bubbles in it once dry.

Personally, I'd skip the Goop or anything else, you don't need it. A capful of water does all you need to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transducer locations
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:40 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:39 pm
Posts: 11
I have made a few decisions on the FF/GPS. I am getting the big boy, Hummingbird 597ci HD Combo. With my credit card points I will only pay a couple hundred for it at most. :) I talked with Hummingbird and this is what they said;
The kayak kit, MHX XMK, will work with the single/dual beam transducer that comes with either the 587ci HD and the 597ci HD combo units you have indicated; however, it does not come included.
The 597ci HD Combo and the 587ci HD Combo come with the XNT 9 20 T transducer that is the only transducer designed to work with the kayak kit, MHX XMK. If you purchase the down imaging system such as the 597ci HD DI Combo this will not work.
That said I will try the through the hull method first to see how that works. Later I will try out the mirrage blank if any issues come up.
Thanks to all for the comments, suggestions and tips. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group