Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Transporting PA14
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 5:31 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I just bought a PA14 and currently use it with a SUT200 trailer. Question: Can I transport my PA14 upside down on the rails? I currently strap it on with the hull side down, but it is difficult to keep it from shifting/sliding on the bunks, even though I have the bunks heavily padded. I carry my Outbacks upside down on this trailer and they hold securely. Many thanks for the help.

Post subject: Re: Transporting PA14
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 6:51 pm 
Hobie Team Member

fishalot, I'm not an expert but what I have seen on the forum is the PA 14 should be transported right side up. The bottom seems to be the strongest part of the Yak.

Tim

Fishing is not a matter of life or death... It's much more important than that!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 2:26 am 
Site Rank - Admiral

You can look up several threads of how people have modified their trailers to better suit transporting the Pro Angler. PVC pipe seems to be a popular method or you can get the Hobie cradles .

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:48 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I think this from Hobie?

You can store your kayak upside down resting on two crossbars. The rails of the kayak are very stiff and can support the weight easily. Padded crossbars will reduce the chance of any scratches or marks on the rails.

If you must store it right side up, use cradles or something that is shaped to the contour of the hull. It the kayak is resting right side up with little to no support, this puts the entire weight of the kayak on one point on the bottom and possibly cause a flat area to develop. We do offer custom molded cradles for the Adventure Island and the Pro Angler.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:02 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand