Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 7:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:55 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

In December i became the enthusiastic owner of a 2015 PA 12. I am not a newbie as I have been enjoying Hobie Mirage kayaks for 28 years in all kinds of conditions on the Chesapeake Bay and now in SW FL. I fish the waters around Sanibel Island from the lighthouse to Tarpon Bay and all around the causeway. About a month ago on a very calm morning I was suddenly hit broadside by the large wake of a passing powerboat. Although I saw the approaching waves I could not get turned quickly enough to take them head on. My seat was in the lowest position. Before I knew what happened the PA was flipped over and I was in the water beside it. There is nothing that will shatter one's complacency about the stability of your kayak more than being flipped by a wave. I have been out in much worse conditions in my Revolution 13 and never experienced anything like that. My question to Hobie and other PA users is whether the higher profile of the PA makes them more prone to being rolled over in rough water than other models such as the Outback or Revolution. Have many other owners had the unpleasant experience of being flipped. I had planned to sell my REVO 13, but now I am not so sure. I look forward to hearing from Hobie and other owners about this.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:57 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

We're back to the subject of primary versus secondary stability. The wider and flatter the hull is the more stable it's going to be on calm water but the less stable it's going to be on rougher water. A wide, flat hull will attempt to conform to the water's surface while a more narrow, rounded hull, although less stable on calm water, will tend to just rise and fall in swells and waves.