Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:59 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:40 am
Posts: 449
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
Hey all! My wife surprised me with a brand new GoPro Hero4 as an early birthday gift. I plan on using this on my new TI (if spring ever comes). What would you recommend as mounting/accessory options so that I get the most out of the camera on our boating trips? Thanks in advance!

_________________
2015 Hobie Tandem Island Hibiscus
  • Trampolines
  • Hobie cover
  • Davis Spar Fly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:57 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2267
Location: High Point, NC
Make use of those molded in rod holders. A piece of shimmed PVC fitted with a ram ball on top and there you go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:42 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 6:11 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Vancouver & Shaw Island, WA
I use the RailBlaza mounts. Check out their website for lots of info and mounting options. Their longer camera boom is useful in providing a stable shot when attached to the boat or can be handheld to get a shot under the boat or a more distant view away from the boat. Here is a video shot using this basic setup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40V6vjUg7d8

_________________
Randy
2013 Tandem Island "Frenzy"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:14 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:40 am
Posts: 449
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
Nice video! I'll look into the RailBlazer mounts. Thanks!

_________________
2015 Hobie Tandem Island Hibiscus
  • Trampolines
  • Hobie cover
  • Davis Spar Fly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:36 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:14 pm
Posts: 2405
Location: South Florida
I've come to dislike Railblaza because of too much jamming--not on their smooth demo video, but in my use.

Keith

_________________
"Don't kid yourselves, sharks are everywhere in the Everglades" Chekika

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex ... It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." A. Einstein


Last edited by Chekika on Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:01 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 220
Location: Bethany, OK
Since Railblaza has come up...

I bought one of their 32-41 railmounts to put on an aka arm of my TI - and it doesn't (seem to) fit! I couldn't get the bolts to thread into the nuts, even using some tweezers to press the nuts into the deep recesses, they weren't quite long enough. Then when I removed the mount I found the distance between the bolts was just close enough that the threads on the bolts had scratched the paint off the aka - argh!

So, did the '15 TI get slightly larger diameter akas? These things are advertised as specifically designed with the Island akas in mind, so surely they should fit better than this...?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:09 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 220
Location: Bethany, OK
As for camera mounting, I have a short pole (mine is wood, as it happened to be in the garage already) that I wrapped several layers of duct tape around until it fit snugly in one of the molded-in fishing pole holders. My camera (Contour Roam) came with a heavy rubber strap mount, I just wrap it around the top end of the pole.

I've had it for a couple years, using it on my other SOT kayaks, and found it works just fine with the TI too. Gives the following view:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD9elBEP3gk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:31 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:58 am
Posts: 1942
Location: Forster, NSW, Australia
For one of my cameras, I bought a selfie stick off eBay for about $8. This extends out to about 1.1 metres, yet I can stuff it down my PFD when compressed. After use, I give it a quick dose of Lanox to fight off rust.

_________________
Tony Stott
2012 Tandem Island "SIC EM"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:49 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:14 pm
Posts: 2405
Location: South Florida
RandomJoe wrote:
So, did the '15 TI get slightly larger diameter akas? These things are advertised as specifically designed with the Island akas in mind, so surely they should fit better than this...?

Matt Miller has said the aka diameter on AI and AI 2 is the same.
mmiller wrote:
Missed the question...

Yes, same aka material / diameter.

Keith

_________________
"Don't kid yourselves, sharks are everywhere in the Everglades" Chekika

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex ... It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." A. Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 8:58 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2267
Location: High Point, NC
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DauPhtsPJ1U

1:25 in shows an action cam mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:16 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:40 am
Posts: 449
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
Yall's PVC ingenuity never ceases to amaze me.

Hmmm. Now I'm concerned about the rail mounts. I didn't necessarily want to drill any new holes in my brand new TI. So, that was the route that I was going to take. But if they don't fit then I'll have to figure something else out.

_________________
2015 Hobie Tandem Island Hibiscus
  • Trampolines
  • Hobie cover
  • Davis Spar Fly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:24 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 12:49 pm
Posts: 220
Location: Bethany, OK
I've seen plenty of Railblaza mounts on TIs in videos on Youtube, so I'm not sure why mine wouldn't fit. Perhaps I just wasn't forceful enough or something, but I do also worry about the threads scraping the paint off the aka underneath the mount - where water may accumulate and stay.

My kayak shop also had a mount that was just a hose clamp with rubber sleeve on it, and an attached RAM ball. That would fit pretty much anything, I didn't get it to try as I was originally looking for something to mount my Elite 5 and didn't think the hose clamp would be a sufficient mount for it. A camera probably wouldn't be an issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:26 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:40 am
Posts: 449
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska
I saw that mount too. It's actually a RAM mount. I've heard the RAM mounts tend to loosen and slip. I'm probably going to get a selfie stick and hold the camera for a little while. I can make my kids (9 & 12) do the videography for a little bit too. Maybe after I have the TI for a little bit I can figure out how/where best to mount it for hands free operation.

_________________
2015 Hobie Tandem Island Hibiscus
  • Trampolines
  • Hobie cover
  • Davis Spar Fly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:44 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:30 pm
Posts: 175
Selfie stick works great and i just set it in the rod holders when tired of holding it. For a more fixed position i have a treaded rod that fits the go pro tripod mount on one side and a ram 1 1/2 in ball on the other. Its about 3 foot long and it works well. I even put some tubing around it. When i get the outfitter off the ceiling i'll snap a pic. But the 10 dollar selfie stick is a must.

http://youtu.be/8GaK4FpIYvQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoPro Mounting
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:19 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:19 am
Posts: 290
Location: Australia
I too have seen the Railblaza railmounts struggle to fit the crossbars and seen the screws scratch off the coating as well. RAM make a product called a Toughclaw, which is now my favourite aka/xbar mount. The large size works a treat:
http://slhobie.com.au/gear/mounts/432-ram-tough-claw-rail-mounts
Image

Then basically any RAM socket arm to GoPro adaptor is the go. My ideal set up for a forward mounted cam (front xbar) would be to use the mount shown above. Then I'd use this socket arm:
http://slhobie.com.au/gear/mounts/553-ram-swivel-double-socket-arm
Image

And this Go Pro adaptor:
http://slhobie.com.au/gear/mounts/341-ram-camera-mount-adaptors
Image

If you wanted a rear boom, I'd look at Hobie's RAM camera kit, and mount it using a Tough Claw. Personally I would only use a single arm (not both that are supplied in the kit) will get a little too wobbly on an Island otherwise:
http://slhobie.com.au/gear/mounts/319-hobie-ram-camera-mount
Image

_________________
Blue Water Kayak Fishing guy: SL Hobie
http://slhobie.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group