Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:48 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:34 pm
Posts: 5
We have just moved to FL and I am going to look at a Prindle 16 tomorrow that's for sale off Craigslist. I asked the seller the age of the Cat and he says he is not sure, which makes me think he doesn't have the title. I believe in FL you have to have a 16 footer titled and registered but I wanted to be sure, in case he claims he doesn't have it, so I know if I should walk away. :?

Any advise is appreciated.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 6:29 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:48 pm
Posts: 66
Location: South Carolina
You will have to research the laws in Florida (call the gov't office - they are there to help you :wink: usually sailboats 16 feet are not required to be titled), and it might come down to what you think of the seller - is there proof he had the boat for a long time, stable residence, etc. to make a determination if the boat is legit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:37 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 64
Location: Pinellas county Florida
supgirl2277 wrote:
We have just moved to FL and I am going to look at a Prindle 16 tomorrow that's for sale off Craigslist. I asked the seller the age of the Cat and he says he is not sure, which makes me think he doesn't have the title. I believe in FL you have to have a 16 footer titled and registered but I wanted to be sure, in case he claims he doesn't have it, so I know if I should walk away. :?

Any advise is appreciated.

Thanks!


Florida title and registration are Not required for boats less than 18 ft. in length. The exception is when they have a motor.

_________________
1985 Hobie 14T
2014 Hobie T2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:58 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:54 am
Posts: 83
Location: Tampa, FL
I believe that to be exempt from registration and titling, a nonmotorized vessel (beach cat) must be less than 16 feet. Florida changed the laws a few years ago. It seems that most people with 16 foot cats ignore the revised rule. And, I've never heard of anyone getting fined for that either.

https://www.flhsmv.gov/safety-center/consumer-education/vessel-registration-titles/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:10 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:18 am
Posts: 2429
Location: Sarasota,Key West FL
I live here and there are lots of cats in sarasota, (all sizes), the only ones with registration numbers on them are the ones with motors.
No motor, no problem.
If you do plan to add a motor you will need to apply for a new title similar to what you would do on a homebuilt boat (I have built several).
The HID system is only a recent system, and doesn't apply to home built or really old stuff that has been restored.
Your situation is pretty common.
FE


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group