Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Mast float alternative?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:15 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi,

Are there any decent alternatives to the Bob mast floats? I'm new to the scene and have an H-14. I was going to get a Baby Bob but then found out it was 1.2Kg/2.6lbs!
I sail on my own and step my mast alone without any gadgets except for the link pin.

I tied a 1.25kg weight to the end of my mast and although I can just about lift it, it's not something I'd want to do repeatedly! I can see me losing it one day and the whole mast come crashing down.

Currently I'm using a 5Litre/1.3 Gallon bottle tied to the halyard. It doesn't look very good and doesn't displace as much as the Bob.

Are there any more permanent better looking alternatives? And why is the Bob made so heavy? I'd rather get something that looks like a Bob but is only as strong and as thick as a plastic bottle, weighs nothing at all, and can be replaced cheaply and easily. Any ideas?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:41 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Have you considered no float? I've sailed H16 & H17 solo for over 20 years, each without a bob or float. I've capsized many times and turtled several. Recovering from a turtle isn't all that difficult and at times turtling can be a good thing. :wink:

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:25 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Why o Why do you need a mast float on a Hobie 14 unless you weigh a 100lbs or less I can not think of a good reason
I have turned over most all sizes of the Hobies and many of those other cats never never using mast bobs floats water holders
Turning a cat is a matter of practice and really good righting hardware (store bought)
Gary
That being said I do have a shroud extenders for my Hobie 21 SE that have never been used

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:28 am 
Site Rank - Captain