Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Righting Bags
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:57 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Has anyone ever used the big Murray's righting bag? (page 36 in the catalog - comes with a 4:1 block and tackle and supposedly holds 250 lbs). I've never used a righting bag before, but have heard that they can be rather akward and cumbersome to use. I'm wondering if the block and tackle would make this one easier? With this bag you'd still have to balance it on your shoulder as you leaned out (which I've heard is the tricky part), but at least you could fill the bag and set the height "just so" before hand.

If it is easier to use, I'm thinking of getting one to keep on the H18 to possibly allow solo righting. Does that sound possible/realistic? 250 lbs in the bag plus my 195 lbs is well over the 280 lb minimum (am I remembering that correctly?) to right an H18, right? But it's listed at $180, and that's a lot of money to spend if it's just going to be a pain to use.

Actually, what I'd really like to do is rig a righting pole (Murrays has one on the next page) and hang a big ol' righting bag on the end of it. That ought to solve all my righting problems. Of course, now we're talking about a $500 righting system.

Does anyone out there use a righting pole? Is it possible to solo right with one of these? Most of the pictures I've seen of righting poles in action show 2 people so I'm guessing that's probably not enough by itself.

Conesus Lake, NY
1976 Hobie 14

Post subject: Righting Pole
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 12:55 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Send Rick an email and ask him if it will work. My Hobie 17 tramp would not work with it and I think the 18 is shaped the same. Curves to low. I had to send mine back

Doug

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:55 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt