Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 7:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:53 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I did a quick look around but didn't see anything that could answer my question, I suspect it's already been asked so sorry for the redundancy.

I'm looking to purchase a new PFD, and I'm fairly new to sailing so I'd like to hear suggestion on getting the best one. I plan to wear it the whole time, so what makes a comfy PFD? Where should the bulk be located? Front, back high, low, all over? It might be pertinent to know that I'm tall and skinny.

Or just post your vote for your favorite PFD.

Thanks

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:59 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

You want a sailing or kayaking lifejacket so it's more comfortable when trapping . Zhik gill or Baltic buoyancy aids would be the most comfortable but if you want a coast guard.approved one the stolquest wedge or hobie sidezip ones are nice.

1983 Hobie 16 Cat fever #55697
2008 Laser Radial/4.7 #190471
S.S.S.
S.Y.S.P

Last edited by optikid on Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:34 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I bought a stohlquist wedge, bought 2 for my brother and I. The website says about $89 found them else where for about $50. We love these PFDs. They have this rubbery material on the inside of the front of it that helps it not ride up on you. these are really comforable sitting down, witch was suprising. we were in the water with them last weekend, when we pitchpoled and as far as them riding up in the water, i didnt even notice it. (of course it was really cold and all i was concerened about we getting the boat flipped back over.) Also the zipper pocket on the front of it is great.

I looked at the zhik PFDs but 120 was to much money.

Stewart

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:40 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt