Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:16 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Anyone make them?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:54 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Rudder pins are easy to make. I use grade 316 stainless steel. Use a variable speed drill and drill slow with steady pressure. The slower you run the drill the better and use tap water to keep the bit cool. Build a couple of sets and pick your favorite to use. Now you will have some spares to give away.... :D

If you don't have the time or skill, they really are affordable to buy from your dealer. I work with metal for a living, so it's no problem for me.

I lose a rudder pin once while out of state and helped myself to the aluminium rod used for a toilet paper holder I found in a port-a-john.......... :roll: shame on me......... :wink:

Always keep a spare set and travel with some basic tools

Good luck..........

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:44 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Bill, Much thanks. I will copy that and keep the Porta Potty inventory in mind...

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:50 am 
Site Rank - Admiral

I recently made a set from aluminum rod that I found at Home Depot. Cost about $4 total for both.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:45 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I also have made them from aluminum rod. It is cheap and easy enough to make extras though the first set lasted a long time. I think there used to be plastic rods available that were designed to shear off if the rudders hit the bottom in rough surf. I thought they were sold by Hobie.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:25 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

There are a lot of different aluminum alloys out there and they all have different strength properties. Unless the alloy is specifically stated, I wouldn't expect Home Depot aluminum rod to be anything other than architectural grade (lowest grade).