Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 10:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:07 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am watching this site to learn as much as I can about HC's. My wife and I just got back from Aruba and we rented a Hobie Getaway while there and now we have the fever to have one of our own. Unfortunately, I have NO sailing knowledge and to make the investment in a boat, we need to know more. We're located in Orlando and am looking for advise on where to take lessons, specifically tailored to Hobie's. What are your suggestions? I am a newb so I need all the help I can get.

Kent

:roll:

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:31 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I know absolutely nothing about Florida, but my recommendation is to contact the local Hobie fleet and start to meet people in your area. If you are lucky and have a dealer in the area, it is worth having a chat with them. If you find somebody that is looking for crew on their boat, that is an excellent way to learn the ropes (pun intended).

Bob

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:06 am 
Site Rank - Captain

The Clearwater Community Sailing Center on Sand Key offers lessons. It's a bit of a drive from Orlando but they have very nice facilities and rent boats including Hobie Waves.

http://www.clearwatercommunitysailing.org/

Also there are a couple of Hobie fleets that I'm aware of near Orlando. One in Daytona and one on Merritt Island. Both are on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hobie-Fleet-80-Daytona-Beach/204159539678813

https://www.facebook.com/Fleet111

Another place that I believe offers sailing lessons is Calema, also on Merritt Island. It is first and foremost a windsurfing shop. That's how I know them but they have lots of other stuff including kayaks, paddle boards and sailboats. Tinho Dornellas the owner and his wife are great. I believe they have a couple of Prindles that they rent out and give lessons on.

http://www.calema.com