Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 11:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:25 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I know this is a Hobie site, but I have a question about a call I got tonight. A guy called me tonight about a boat he has for sale I have never heard of it before so I thought maybe someone here has. It is called a Playcat Escape 16 or 17 ( I can't remember which size). It is a at a powerboat dealership and they said they took it in on trade. They just want it gone cause it's taking up space. He said he would sell it to me cheap.

Is this boat even something I should consider, or should I stick with my quest for a H16?

Keep in mind I am brand new to sailing with little experience. I want something to learn on but I also want something that will challenge me as I improve.

Mike

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:54 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I have seen some pictures of one of these. A friend of mine almost bought one instead of his 16.
They are a plastic boat I think, they look really simple to sail, plus they might have decent performance. I would say something just above the Wave but that is purely specualtion.

It looks like it could be a really fun boat for rec sailing!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:13 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I believe it has the rotomolded polythylene Hulls it has 125 square feet of sail area. Total weight is 225lbs. It doesn't come standard with trap lines but I guess I could add them. Is that possible? Does it have enough sail area to support 1 or 2 trap lines, if any.

This is some info i found on the web.

Polyethylene hull construction provides years of fun and reliance.
Protected inboard rudders for worry-free beach launching and landing.
Canted hulls offer increased stability and performance.
Extremely user-friendly layout with only two control lines!
Continuous and spacious trampoline with snag-free construction.