Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Wed Jun 05, 2024 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:09 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I was wondering if anyone could recomend something that will get masking tape residue off hulls. I have just recently done a delam repair and some of the epoxy/tape has left a mess on my decks. I had originally planned on using goop-off but it doesn't seem like that is the best thing for the job based on the warnings of use with fiberglass. I'm new to working on boats and am learning as I go. Would acetone be suitable for this kind of thing? Any comments are appreciated. Thanks.
James

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:18 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Yup,

Acetone will do the trick. Let it sit for a little bit and then rub lightly with circular motion. It "should" ball up and stick to your cloth.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:24 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

3M makes an adhesive remover that ROCKS! p/n 08984. Available at a lot of non-big-box hardware stores.

I use it at work and here at the house.

Brian C

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:25 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Thanks ya'll. I appreciate the quick respsonse. I'll pick some up today.
James

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:15 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

2nd the 3M adhesive remover, great stuff. I use it to clean wax off my surfboards as well.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:28 am 
Hobie Approved Guru

I highly recommend the 3M stuff, too - although I think they've changed the formula.

The stuff I have is in a red/white can and is xylene / MEK based (I think, based on the smell - aromatic hydrocarbons for sure).

The newer stuff is in a black can and is citrus based.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:37 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Oops! works good.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:30 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt