Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Anyone know the tube diameter of the rear aka's and crossmember of a TI?

While waiting for the arrival of the TI in my area, I'm thinking of ideas on how to rig it for saltwater fishing. I'm considering mounting a couple of clamp on rod holders onto the aka's and crossmember on a TI. But thought I check with the masses also. In a previous post, there was a video of yakazz fishing with ram mount rod holders directly installed onto his AI's aka crossmember and is working great for him. And so I was also thinking of doing the same to give the front passenger a place to hold rods. Or a place to hold more rods when going solo. I'm also thinking of adding a couple more clamp on rod holders onto the aka's. Thus knowing the size of the tubing will help with determine what size hardware is needed and what my installation options are.

Aloha from Hilo,

cliffs2yak (aka "John")


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:33 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 120
Location: South Florida (Coral Springs)
I measure the diameter of the aka to be 5.5 inches.

Note that the TI does have two built in rod holders.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:21 pm
Posts: 2229
Location: Maui, Hawaii
I think you might want to measure that again. (maybe the circumference?) :shock:

_________________
Image
http://KayakingBob.com - - - - - Hobie Island Sailing since 2006 - - - - - 2011 & 2012 Hobie AIs and a 2012 TI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Thanks guys!

To help clarify, here's a pic of the crossmember I was referring to:

Image

Thanks Roadrunner for the pic.

From the pic, the crossmember looks closer to 2 inches in tube diameter.

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:33 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 120
Location: South Florida (Coral Springs)
reconlon wrote:
I think you might want to measure that again. (maybe the circumference?) :shock:


Duh on my part. Yes, that was the circumference of the amas.
C=pi*d
diameter = 1.75 inches


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:59 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
That'll work!

Now to find moutns for 1.75" tubing.

Thanks,

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 am
Posts: 1782
Location: Calga NSW, Australia
As I recall, one of the RAM mounts that Yakass recommends uses a hose clamp style fitting, so it would be easily adaptable to the diameter of the TI's crossbars.
Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:53 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
chrisj,

Thanks! I checked the ram mounts site and tried to look for the specific part; but, couldn't find the part you depicted. Don't think I'm looking hard enough so will check again after my eyes get some rest after looking at a lot of ram mount options. However, I did find a few that may work:

http://www.ram-mount.com/CatalogResults/PartDetails/tabid/63/partid/082065077045049048056066085/Default.aspx
http://www.ram-mount.com/CatalogResults/PartDetails/tabid/63/partid/082065077045049049056066085/Default.aspx
http://www.ram-mount.com/CatalogResults/PartDetails/tabid/63/partid/082065077045050055049085045050/Default.aspx
http://www.ram-mount.com/CatalogResults/PartDetails/tabid/63/partid/082065077045050055049085045049050/Default.aspx

Prices are kind of up there for such a little part. So I'm leaning towards fabricating a saddle for a mount that I have stored and using the ss hose clamps. Won't be as pretty as the ram mounts though.

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:03 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:32 am
Posts: 1782
Location: Calga NSW, Australia
c2y,

For some reason, these mounts seem to be more available in Australia than in the U.S.
They are still listed on the Maclean Outdoors website: http://www.macleanoutdoors.com.au/ram_mounts.htm
As I recall, Yakass was (? is) working for Maclean Outdoors and was instrumental in getting them to stock those mounts.
It probably would not cost a fortune to get one mailed to Hawaii.
If you email Yakass (Josh), I'm sure he could advise you: josh@yakass.net

_________________
Image


Last edited by chrisj on Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:21 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
chrisj,

Checked out the Maclean Outdoors site and it listed several options for mounting onto an AI's akas and crossmembers. Don't want to bother Yakass too much so that he can focus more on his adventures and posting. I think it's best for me to send RAM Mounts US the part numbers in case they have some in stock but not listed. Will post updates on what I eventually end up with.

Thanks again,

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:18 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:21 pm
Posts: 2229
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Clifs2yak, when I need ram parts that Hobie doesn't carry, I order from http://www.expressmounts.com/ for quick and not too expensive shipping to Hawaii.

_________________
Image
http://KayakingBob.com - - - - - Hobie Island Sailing since 2006 - - - - - 2011 & 2012 Hobie AIs and a 2012 TI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:39 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
reconlon,

Found it after going to the site you recommended www.expressmounts.com and ran the part number. Looking good so far with mounting options for aka's and crossmembers.

Thanks,

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 1:26 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:12 pm
Posts: 195
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Figured out a way to mount a couple Scotty Rodmaster II holders and my fishfinder. Ended up cutting out a base from a poly cutting board and used stainless steel tube clamps to secure them onto my TI's crossmember.

Image

To prevent metal to metal contact, I wrapped the crossmember with silicon tape.

Image

And since I was going solo this weekend, thought I mount my transducer to one of the drive well plugs.

Image

Will be testing it out in the water tomorrow and will post how it goes.


Aloha,

c2y


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:13 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 810
Location: Sydney - Parramatta
Excellent idea there. Really love the transducer on the second drive plug.

Just be careful when beaching :roll:

Have you had a chance to try it out yet?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 10:36 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:21 pm
Posts: 2229
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Great Idea on the transducer mount!

_________________
Image
http://KayakingBob.com - - - - - Hobie Island Sailing since 2006 - - - - - 2011 & 2012 Hobie AIs and a 2012 TI


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group