Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mast Tang
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:17 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Posts: 32
Seeing as the 14 has a light load weight would it be worth it to install a tang from a 16 on mine? and would it even fit, besides having to drill holes for the rivets? My concern is just with the trap wires hooked up it just seems like alot of wires going into one hole, Obviously the Turbo has been around for many years and a different tang isn't part of the turbo kit but I'm just curious as I like to be proactive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mast Tang
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:42 pm 
Offline
Hobie Approved Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 7:11 pm
Posts: 4623
Location: Detroit, MI
The existing one-hole tang works just fine. A 16's tang will not fit - the mast section is much larger than the 14's.

There's a trick to getting all the wires on one shackle:
Image
Trapeze wires go on the pin of the shackle, not the bow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mast Tang
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:55 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Posts: 32
I have had no problem getting all wires into one shackle, The pic that you posted makes sense to spread the load but on the hobie assembely guide it has all wires in the bow. So now I'm confused cause one thing I know about sailors is they like to change things to make them better and after experience they tend to come up with things that are way better then the original design.

Thanks for all your help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mast Tang
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:16 am 
Offline
Hobie Approved Guru

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 7:11 pm
Posts: 4623
Location: Detroit, MI
Before the three-hole tang appeared on the 16, it had a single-hole tang like the 14. The method shown above was the only way to fit a second set of trap wires on to the shackle.

BTW, that's a 16-sized shackle in that photo. There's no way you can fit five wires on the 14's original shackle, but you could on that one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group