Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:03 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: High Point, NC
It doesn't necessarily need to be below the bottom of the hull. The transducer operates on a cone shaped signal. Even an inch or two above the hull bottom line shouldn't affect it in the least - the cone will never touch the hull.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 5:53 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:24 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Waverley,Nova Scotia,Canada
Tom;
Did you read the post correctly?? Are you saying that a sidescan sonar transducer does not have to be mounted such that there is clear water on both sides and no hull shadowing it?? If so, have you done this with no degredation to your image on the side which is shielded?? Just askin'

Regards...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:43 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:54 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Bubbleboy wrote:
Thanks guys! Below are a couple more pics.

Image


Awesome idea for a transducer mount - I'm going to plagiarize it, and mount the whole lot on a removable Scotty platform :) the only part I've been unable to find is this one - do you have a RAM part number?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:33 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 6:35 am
Posts: 72
Looks like a Ram b-218-1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:48 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:54 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
ecduzitgood wrote:
Looks like a Ram b-218-1


grr... the importer of RAM into Australia doesn't seem to stock them... might have to settle for a RAM-B-252U, which would allow a second fastening bolt to be added to the arm...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:12 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: High Point, NC
My unit is from Lowrance. I believe they work very much the same and are the same type systems.

You might want to knock out a quick prototype that allows you to raise and lower the transducer to find out what's the shallowest point that it still provides the best signal. That's where you'll want to position it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:46 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:58 pm
Posts: 155
I've really been trying to force a way to do a rear grab handle transducer mount but I may just have to do a side install like this. Now I just need a parts list. I keep seeing RAM parts in install pics on this forum that I can't find on the web. Looks like it's time to order a RAM catalogue!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:28 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:55 am
Posts: 57
Location: Boise, ID
It's guys like me that appreciate all the brain power and ingenuity that go into these modifications. Thank you all for being willing to share your ideas and what does/doesn't work. :D :) :) :D

Iceflyer

_________________
One moment you're flying South for the the winter, then - BANG - gravy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:54 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Ring King wrote:
I've really been trying to force a way to do a rear grab handle transducer mount but I may just have to do a side install like this. Now I just need a parts list. I keep seeing RAM parts in install pics on this forum that I can't find on the web. Looks like it's time to order a RAM catalogue!!


I have one of the bung-to-RAM adapters that I was going to use, but decided to rethink that strategy, when the wife said I can get a PA12 when it's released in Australia... plan is to make a fully removable unit that will transfer between my Revo 13, her Outback, and the PA12 once we get it...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:28 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:58 pm
Posts: 155
I don't think we can get that mount here in the states. I haven't seen any other than in the youtube videos where they mention Kevin Winchester makes them. I would think Hobie would want in on the action and offer it on their website but alas I guess I'll have to come up with something else.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:01 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:59 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Toronto
Here are the RAM model numbers from what I remember, sorry, I can't find the receipt.

- Base - RAM-B-202U
- Arm - RAM-B-201U-C
- Transducer arm ball - RAM-B-218-1U

For the 898 I used the RAM-111U-B. RAM recommended the 2.25" setup, but it was just huge! The 1.5" setup if sufficient for a kayak

_________________
Cheers,
Adam
http://www.yakfisher.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:34 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:40 am
Posts: 80
Location: Dallas/ Ft. Worth
Nice work!

_________________
Rob Milam
2014 Pro Staff
Hobie Cat * Dobyns Rods * Power-Pole * Smith Optics * Super Nova Fishing Lights * Xcite Baits * Werner Paddles * Lowrance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 7:51 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:59 pm
Posts: 95
Location: Toronto
Hey folks, I was able to get out this weekend and try the setup. Worked flawlessly. It was very easy to flip the transducer into the water, there was no visible indication the fins were being picked up by the side scanning. The GPS puck also works fine being mounted internally.

_________________
Cheers,
Adam
http://www.yakfisher.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:09 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:57 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Deatonville North, Louisiana
Bubbleboy wrote:
I heard you are limited in the size of transducer it will accept. The 898 transducer is huge compared to my 385ci

Yes, My Humminbird 898C SI transducer is more like a bar of soap in size...

_________________
just add water


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 9:50 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:47 am
Posts: 75
Location: Texas Gulf Coast/Dallas, Texas
Bubbleboy, thanks for all the pics. If been wanting to put a 898 on my Adventure Island but have been uncertain if it was possible. I think I can do it now. I'm going to order to 898 in the next day or two. If you have anymore tips send them my way. I'll take all the help I can get. It looks like AI mounts are still up in the air. I'll post some pics when i finish.

_________________
"Riding The Island Wind" RIPIT (Tim)
'08 Red Hibiscus AI w/2013 replacement hull, Lovin' it!!!
'11 Golden Papaya AI (for a chap)
'10 Outback w/sail
'11 Tarpon 160


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group