Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 11:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:00 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:20 pm
Posts: 273
Location: London UK
I have had a couple of outings with the Ti and the Humminbird. I have transducer mounted over the side which is a system i use on the Revo but at sailing speed the over the side arm causes too much drag and is pushed back.

Image

this is a photo of the revo setup.

Has anyone mounted a SI traducer successfully on a Ti?

somewhere to the stern perhaps?

cc

_________________
May the odds be ever in your favor..
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:16 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:21 pm
Posts: 2229
Location: Maui, Hawaii
I tried the transducer over the side but I couldn't take the noise and the drag at sail speed. I remounted it inside to shoot through the hull and still get over 600 feet readings.

Mine was not side-scan, but I would recommend trying it mounted inside, maybe in a more rounded part of the hull (mine is just behind the mast cup).

_________________
Image
http://KayakingBob.com - - - - - Hobie Island Sailing since 2006 - - - - - 2011 & 2012 Hobie AIs and a 2012 TI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:28 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:20 pm
Posts: 273
Location: London UK
cheers Bob

I am going with a standard transducer for the time being. at least it should help us around the shallows.

I think you can add a second transducer to the humminbird and choose between them if i get another location to work

cc

_________________
May the odds be ever in your favor..
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:23 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 2:31 pm
Posts: 2711
Location: Kailua 96734
Ours is just in front of the cup on the TI3, easy to access, but it also gets in the way of checking/adjusting the V frame.

I am guessing that wherever it goes, you would want it out of the way of turbulence and bubbles caused by various boat parts at sailing speed?

On a TI, the front drivewell may be a great spot, using the new filler insert Hobie is about to release. If it's a nice flush fit. Maybe they already thought about integrating this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:54 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:17 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Northwest Florida
I have a TI and it sees two types of use. When my wife is with me I do not fish and we have both drives in. When I am fishing I am usually alone and I sail/fish from the aft seat. I have set up my transducer inside a drive well insert so that it is flush with the bottom surface of the insert. When I am alone I put the insert into the unused drive well. With the transducer in this position there is no significant increased drag and the transducer can be left in place even when launching or beaching the TI.

At slow speeds this works very well (0 to 3 kts). At higher speeds air bubbles degrade the sounder image. However, to me this seems OK. When I am trolling I do not mind losing some definition. Also, with this approach to mounting the transducer you get accurate and immediate water temperature readings.

Lastly as I load up supplies into the hull I do not have to consider where the transducer is so as not to damage or move it.

_________________
Martin Hochberg
Tandem Island 2012


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:14 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 2:31 pm
Posts: 2711
Location: Kailua 96734
Picts? How do you handle the wiring?

Seems like a good location, except while really tearing it up in big wind. That section of the cockpit is ALWAYS under water and free of obstructions, (except the starboard dagger).

The water flow at most speeds is pretty good there. The bigger issue may be vibration/wobbling in those loose, cheap, hollow plugs. That could be addressed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 2:31 pm
Posts: 2711
Location: Kailua 96734
Got these from our good friend down under. Thanks Atango!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Very simple and clever.

It made me think that you could probably extend the transducer head just below the plastic insert, (slightly protruding from the hull) for better readings and very low turbulence. The current mirage drive's chain gears extend several inches below the boat this way, and even I rarely run them aground.

Watch for more thoughtful mods from Atango. He's on a roll.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:21 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:20 pm
Posts: 273
Location: London UK
NOHUHU wrote:
Got these from our good friend down under. Thanks Atango!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Very simple and clever.

It made me think that you could probably extend the transducer head just below the plastic insert, (slightly protruding from the hull) for better readings and very low turbulence. The current mirage drive's chain gears extend several inches below the boat this way, and even I rarely run them aground.

Watch for more thoughtful mods from Atango. He's on a roll.

My plan is to install a through hull tranny ( ooh ...err ) for sailing at speed and then modify a plug to fit an si tranny for fishing .

Make it so it can be installed in either well. In the rear for example when the evolve is in the front. I am going to try to make a fibre glass plate to put on the bottom of the plug to allow the tranny to be pushed up into a recess when bad piloting occurs.

Watch this space.

_________________
May the odds be ever in your favor..
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:10 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 9:58 am
Posts: 74
Location: Pensacola, FL
I have an Elite 5 DSI that I brought over from my Pro Angler 12. Solid unit. I shot through the hull, although I was warned that signal would be degraded. Not true. Perhaps in 1000ft+, but that's a really long haul here in the Gulf of Mexico. The screen still looks just as stellar as when it was in the water.

With that said, I have heard that Sidescan cannot shoot through hull for obvious reasons. It scans sideways on a broader angle out of the transducer. While I like the mod above, I sail with a fishing partner when going on offshore fishing trips. I just could not see giving up a MD well for a transducer, as once there is a hookup the sail is furled and pedals come into play. Similar is the case for nearing a wreck of structure. The sail furls and its pedaling to hold over the structure for bottom fishing. It could be addressed as well but I would be terrified of ripping the transducer cable somehow in the heat of a battle. YMMV of course.

I did see a mod that I was very close to doing. Looks nice and tidy with minimal modification. Give it a look as well. http://www.hobiecat.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=43697

_________________
Founder - Yangler.com

President - Gulf Coast Kayak Fishing Association

Like us on Facebook!

Check out my PA12 mods HERE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:28 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 810
Location: Sydney - Parramatta
I hung mine over the side. Kicks up if it runs into something to big like the ground or whales.... Haven't tested it on whales yet.

Image

Image

Image]

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group