Looking for more examples i came across this.... not Solanas but interesting contact at about 2:50....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJpfIKtNt9Y
Obviously made contact, breaking rules 10 (port/starboard) and 14 (avoiding contact), then didn't do the one-turn penalty allowed to exonerate himself. If there was serious damage (probably wasn't, since they kept sailing - they probably lost a chunk of gel coat on the bow), then their only choice would be to retire from the race.
Knowingly breaking a rule and not 1) taking a penalty or 2) retiring from the race is a violation of rule 2 (fair sailing). If this had gone to a hearing, the protest committee would give them a DNE (disqualification, not excludable) - a very serious penalty.
And the worst part is he had plenty of room/time... I ain't sure he even saw him... That one could have been bad!!!
I have a fleet blooper reel going of Rules violations committed by our growing fleet during a race. I might have to included this one also.
When seen real time like that, it makes things very easy to explain and understand...