Hobie Cat Forums

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lowrance Elite 4 DSI FF
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:53 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:36 am
Posts: 2
Location: clearwater, fl
I purchased a Lowrance Elite 4 DSI FF for my Pro Angler. It was installed by the store I bought the kayak. I've been having a few problems minor problems but worked them out I thought. This week I took it out and no sonar (DSI) picture at all and my depth finder had a constant 60' even though I was in maybe 10' of water. I called the store and they told me to call the Lowrance tech, which I did. He said that the DSI transponders should not be installed through the hull. He said he would send me another transponder because mine seemed to be bad but he said the image and the accuracy would not be good unless it was installed on outside of hull. The store I bought kayak and FF says they have installed hundreds of them and with very few complaints. Does anybody know anything about this. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:27 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:26 am
Posts: 137
Location: London,ohio
I have the same FF on my PA12 and it works fine. The only thing I can suggest checking is that there should be a small gap between the bottom of the transponder and the mounting plate. Hope you are able to sort it out. :?:

_________________
Even if you fish all day without a catch, you're still better off than the worm!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:29 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:26 am
Posts: 137
Location: London,ohio
What year is your PA? Does it have the Lowrance ready system?

_________________
Even if you fish all day without a catch, you're still better off than the worm!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:44 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:36 am
Posts: 2
Location: clearwater, fl
Its about a year old. They have a newer model that came out right after I bought mine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:26 am
Posts: 137
Location: London,ohio
Lowrance ready?

_________________
Even if you fish all day without a catch, you're still better off than the worm!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:41 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 2041
Location: High Point, NC
You will indeed lose sensitivity with a thru-the hull mount on this particular transducer. It always puzzles me that customers will take the word of the store employees or other users over the word of the company that makes the product and wants you to get the best possible results with it.

At any rate, it will work, but not as well as if you mount it outside the hull directly in the water. I built a swing down mount for mine. It hinges on the PA's side rail.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7hsFImi2rM&noredirect=1


Last edited by Tom Kirkman on Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 2:26 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:54 pm
Posts: 70
It belongs submerged in the water outside the hull....NOT in a pool of grease, silicone, plumbers putty, duct seal, or any other crap inside the hull. Mount it outside the hull, and you'll see the difference!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group